Got a question? Shoot us an email! support@taffymail.co.uk

For all you vegetarians and vegans out there, we know how difficult it is to know which sweet things you can eat from other countries. The UK is pretty strict on their labelling laws, so it’s easy to find things with vegetarian and vegan approval symbols. America is very different, and you’ll be lucky to come across these signs. So, to help you out, here’s a list of treats that you might not know about!

Unfrosted Pop-Tarts

Every new vegan knows the small horror of finding out that Pop-Tarts have gelatine in them, but strangely enough – the Unfrosted variety don’t! There are three unfrosted flavours; Strawberry, Blueberry, and Brown Sugar. So, take your pick and enjoy these jammy delights.

Oreos

Oreos are a delightful little creation, and they’re vegan, too! We can only vouch for knowing about the original ones, rather than any of the newer creations. There is still some debate, but there are no ingredients on the Oreos that would suggest any use of an animal or an animal by-product.

Sour Patch Kids

Gelatine-free and utterly delicious, this sour and sweet gummy candy is a beloved favourite. Not all gummy candies are made with gelatine, so remember to start checking more often; you may be pleasantly surprised. Sour Patch Watermelons are vegan, too!

Nutter Butter Cookies

Delicious little peanut-shaped cookies that taste just like peanut butter. And not a single non-vegan ingredient in sight.

Twizzlers

A surprise to all! These red, twisted vines are vegan. They come in a range of different flavours but the dyes used are fruit and vegetable extracts. Plus, they aren’t as sweet as other candies, which makes them a bit easier to snack on while working or studying.

Swedish Fish

Fish-shaped candy in a number of flavours, with no gelatine in sight!

Jolly Ranchers

All standard flavours of the fruity Jolly Ranchers brand are vegan.

Pixy Stix

These delicious sugar treats (and many of the similar brands available) are pretty much pure sugar with a bit of fruit extract thrown in. Pixy Stix are vegan, but make sure you check other off-brands if you’re buying them.

Skittles

Skittles have been vegan for some time now, the red colouring used is a natural colouring, as apposed to the dreaded carmine colouring. Go ahead and taste that rainbow!

Happy Veganuary!

Remember that Veganism isn’t about being perfect, it’s about making an effort towards eating sustainably and not eating animals/animal products. There’s always going to be a lot of debate about any product that can be considered “Vegan”, down to the dyes used, the possibility of contamination, and even the soil that something is grown in. Do your best and enjoy some delicious treats!

For our vegan readers, some ingredients you’ll want to avoid are: Gelatine (made from animal tendons, ligaments, and bones), milk fat/whey/caesin (animal-based milk product), carmine (pigment made from insects), lard, and refined cane sugar (sometimes processed using charred bones), eggs, and shellac/confectioner’s glaze (excretion of insects).